Two Public Health Students Named Albert Schweitzer Fellows

Reposted from the UAB School of Public Health; April 30, 2024

Students from the UAB School of Public Health have once again been selected as Alabama Fellows within the Albert Schweitzer program. Leanne Jeong, MD/MPH candidate and Shashank Tiwari, MPH in Epidemiology candidate, are among those selected for the 2024-2025 cohort of Schweitzer Fellows. The competitive fellowship is one of thirteen active Schweitzer programs in the United States, which exists to create a pathway for emerging professionals to enter the workforce with the skills and commitment necessary to address unmet health needs.

“I am incredibly grateful to have been selected as an Albert Schweitzer fellow this year and am excited to serve my community as an aspiring healthcare professional,” said Leanne Jeong, student in the UAB Heersink School of Medicine and the UAB School of Public Health. “During my fellowship year, I desire to continue learning from individuals with diverse identities and strengthen my ability to meet a patient’s unique needs while creating an inclusive, equitable and healthy community.”

To continue reading, go here: